Stone ..


Warm me

Hug me ,

hold me tight

Let me hear you moan

……

I love to feel the warmth of your

shoulder against mine

Even if you think

I am just a stone …

TarekOfCairo

I am adding this comment in responce to my dear friend Robyn ..

I took this shot several weeks ago in Cairo. This was on the rooftop of a building in the old islamic city , it overlooked the whole area .. This was the end of one of the most amazing days of my life, a 12 hours , 5 miles walk ends in this spot with a midnight hot chocolate … Every thing was glowing … As for the photo … The idea of these ugly irrigular stones sitting there under this amazing lantin just looked wonderful to me .. and I didn’t get it first … everytime I pass by this photo in my collection it just wants to say something to me … Finally yesterday it yielded to me ( or I did to it) … I tweeked it a bit on my ipad and then here it is .. 

Posted on September 14, 2012, in Photography, Poems and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Adorable ~ made my day… even the stone needs to connect. This is a lovely photo Tarek! Where is it shot? Awesome warm tones — love the ambience…glowing….
    xo RL

  2. I took this shot several weeks ago in Cairo. This was on the rooftop of a building in the old islamic city , it overlooked the whole area .. This was the end of one of the most amazing days of my life, a 12 hours , 5 miles walk ends in this spot with a midnight hot chocolate … Every thing was glowing … As for the photo … The idea of these ugly irrigular stones sitting there under this amazing lantin just looked wonderful to me .. and I didn’t get it first … everytime I pass by this photo in my collection it just wants to say something to me … Finally yesterday it yielded to me ( or I did to it) … I tweeked it a bit on my ipad and then here it is … I am glad you connected to it just exactly like I did …

    • Thank you Dear Tarek for telling me more about your encounter on this magnificent day. 12 hours – oh my, that is a very long walk indeed! I can feel the “glow” in your photo, and and am fascinated to hear how these stones awaited you at the culmination of your journey. Hot chocolate too? I love this photo ~ May need a copy!
      Much Love and Warm Glowing Wishes your way today ~ RL

  3. And this what I like about your photos .. They are alive .. Breathing.. have stories to tell. Sometimes interesting.. Sad .. Funny .. But indeed they are always warm .. being alive!

  4. I think once you hold the camera and start to take photos , your way of looking at things gets deeper and richer .. You start to have an insight into shapes, light and composition and even without thinking reading or knowing , your life reflects immensely in your photos … Thank you and looking for your warm posts .. Its been a while ..

  5. You have beautifully illustrated the ultimate meaning of duality; when one exists without the other is incomplete, but when they union ….

    • Definitely true .. No one is ever complete on his own … And no joy in life when anything is inherently self sufficient .. Love is ultimately sharing … Thank you for the wonderful insightb

  6. Luscious use of light here, Tarek…I imagine that you used a long exposure and tripod?
    And the shoulder/stone connection is brilliant….it’s so difficult to know how another feels at any given moment…especially if there’s no sign of warmth on the outside….Meryl

    • The camera with handheld for sure .. The exact settings I have to dig out .. The time was around 11 pm , already after all the light was off in the old islamic Cairo and I could not find anything to shoot , so I went to the light and found these rocks sitting there for no apparent reason .. The photo was manipulated on my ipad to give some warmth , the saturation was not changed .. The photo lacks sharpness for the obvious reasons but the details on the lantern gives some feeling of details which offset the sharpness.. Thank you for the technical comment .. Very much appreciated Meryl..

Your comments shed light in my way ...

