The day before a birthday …


 

Of all the raindrops
All the day lights
All the birthday gifts
and all the colorful boxes


Of All the smiles and
the love poems
Of all the hearty songs
and all the funny quotes


From all over the globe
and across all time zones
From deserts, plains, mountains and beaches…
From skyscrapers and roofless slums ..


Of all the cards in my mail ..
and the knocks on my heart..
The one I am really waiting for
Is not coming through …


And this is how I -helplessly- offend
nearly everyone I know in one go..
but still I remain gratefully thankful
To all of you  …

That I am sure …

TarekOfCairo

Posted on September 12, 2012, in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Tarek, dear friend you offend nobody. I wish for you to be as kind to yourself, as you are to everyone who is lucky enough to know you in this lifetime.

    Today I share with you a quote from a novel I read many years ago entitled “The Alchemist” by Paulo Coelho… I confess that I have to remind myself often:

    ” We warriors of light must be prepared to have patience in difficult times and to know the Universe is conspiring in our favor, even though we may not understand how.”

    Stay strong, and shine your ever-present light Tarek… I will be one of those, from across the globe thinking of you, and wishing you peace and love, strength and joy. I expect to see that light of yours shining from across the oceans…. Hugs on this day ~ Robyn

    • Wow Robyn , “more Pretty words from a hurricane” … How lucky I am with friends like you … I am numbed by your generosity and I feel more guilty now … Its funny that The Alchemist is my favourite book ever … I share with you my favourite quote
      “There was a language in the world that everyone understood, a language the boy had used throughout the time that he was trying to improve things at the shop. It was the language of enthusiasm, of things accomplished with love and purpose, and as part of a search for something believed in and desired.”
      This is your language and the language of me who visits this blog .. I am thankful to all of you … Xoxox

      • Really ??!! – The Alchemist is your all-time favorite?! That is pretty amazing to learn. I am now going to re-read. I was having a rough time when I read it several years ago- and I know it gave me comfort — but thinking maybe a sign that it’s one I should revisit now. Do love the quote you shared…words do have so much power – especially when they are born from the heart and intention is pure when saying them. I feel you have this gift with words Tarek! xo

  2. People like you.. are the “all times birthday”.. A celebration from life to all those who know you.. and a wonderful surprise to those who dont. Enjoy your day.. everyday ..

    • “All time birthday” … Wow .. That would make a wonderful 3 words poem .. I am not sure I deserve these heart warming words , but I will cherish them for ever, and this awesome catching phrase may be a subject of a poem one day , unless you do it before me .. Thanks dear ..

  3. a lovely one. Hope the person concerned remembers the writer very soon..

Your comments shed light in my way ...

